Well I am awaiting the arrival of yet another that I felt like sharing even before I have it in my hands to enjoy. Another fascinating story of life experience with a message for all of us in the book titled:
Enjoy Every Sandwich: Living Each Day as If It Were Your Last

What got me to buy it?  Read the following and see if it strikes your fancy (of course, on Amazon.com I also read the sample pages and that made the difference)…

This book is a culmination of what I’ve learned. I hope it will open the door for you to embrace your humanity, accept uncertainty, and live a life of gratitude. —from Enjoy Every Sandwich

As medical director of the famed Preventive Medicine Research Institute, Lee Lipsenthal helped thousands of patients struggling with disease to overcome their fears of pain and death and to embrace a more joyful way of living. In his own life, happily married and the proud father of two remarkable children, Lee was similarly committed to living his life fully and gratefully each day.

The power of those beliefs was tested in July 2009, when Lee was diagnosed with esophageal cancer. As Lee and his wife, Kathy, navigated his diagnosis, illness, and treatment, he discovered that he did not fear death, and that even as he was facing his own mortality, he felt more fully alive than ever before. In the bestselling tradition of Tuesdays with Morrie, told with humor and heart, and deeply inspiring, Enjoy Every Sandwich distills everything Lee learned about how we find meaning, purpose, and peace in our lives.

The delivery notice says I will have it later this week, so come back later to see my own comments after reading it.  If you read it before I do, share your thoughts here . . .

Oh, and the second most viewed posting on this blog (from that earlier conversation here) is the post about: 

Who would have guessed? And that is actually the title they searched on to find this blog and that posting!

Dec 21, 2011: update to the above message – the book, “Enjoy Every Sandwich” arrived a few days later and I confess to having devoured it almost immediately.  While there were some parts that disappointed me in the reading (interesting life sharing but off topic), overall it was as inspiring as I had anticipated from reading that Amazon sample piece.  The author died shortly before the book was published, so his message is even more poignant and meaningful as his legacy for us.

I strongly recommend reading it.  There is nothing sad or morbid about it, but strong messages of living life to the fullest each and every day we have, with humor and fulfillment in service to self, family and others.  The title really says it all and refers to his enjoyment of a BLT sandwich to the fullest, even as he knows his days are limited – as is true for all of us – only difference was, in his case he knew that limit while we don’t.

I do hope others will read and come back to leave their own comments here based on that reading.  Until then, I await your taking up that challenge.

