Every Fall, I reach out to my donor family through Gilberto, older brother to my deceased heart donor, Roberto, with a letter of gratitude.  Yes, organ donation is an anonymous process, but all across the country recipients and donor families make contact in all sorts of coincidences and welcome ways, many eventually agreeing to meet face to face.  I am blessed with having had such an opportunity and thus this at least annual exchange of thanks for my life saved and Gil’s interest in getting an update on how life is continuing with his brother’s heart still beating here in my body now 15 years later (as of Oct 19, 2009).

In his letter Gilberto shares a poem of special meaning from his youth, one that he still remembers these many years later.  With his permission I share it with you here:

A ROSE IN THE GARDEN OF EDEN IS THE FELLOWSHIP OF FRIENDS.
TIME BUT GLORIFIES IT’S BEAUTY WITH A FRAGRANCE THAT NEVER ENDS.
NO CLOUD CAN SHADE IT’S LOVELINESS, NO STORM IT’S PETALS PART.
FOR THE ROSE OF FRIENDSHIP LIES FOREVER
IN THE SHRINE OF THE HUMAN HEART.
 
He and I see much meaning in those beautiful words, as you too can imagine in light of this heart transplant story we share.
 
“Thank you yet again, Gilberto and family, as life goes on with this heart still beating.”
– Jim
 
 
