Sitting here early on the Saturday before Easter, my mind and heart overflows with excitement given all that continues to fill my life. Just finished an inspiring e-mail (chat) with a close coaching friend who moved to a really neat home (think shore cottage) in lovely Cape May, NJ.  In sharing with her, the many goings on in life here just filled that note as I invited her to join in so many different areas of opportunity that come up every day. You saw that Palm Sunday presentation (sermon?) event in an earlier posting. Feedback on that was extremely positive, leaving me feeling very good for that “new adventure” given that venue of the men’s breakfast. 

Almost on top of that came another very unique (and for me VERY exciting) invitation to be the graduation speaker for a nursing class early May. Wow, I can’t begin to express my feelings about sharing from a patient’s perspective to help inspire (hopefully) and launch these new nurses as they go out to join the world of helping patients and families dealing with medical challenges. Having recently read Alan Alda’s book, Thoughts I Overheard While Talking to Myself, in which he builds many chapters around similar speeches he have had the honor of giving over the years, I was inspired and now with this opportunity – well, you can only imagine. 

I got similarly “pumped” when we went to St. Louis and there was able to offer a patient’s thanks to that Symposium of over 500 transplant nurses from around the world. You can get some idea of what came of that opportunity by reading the story and seeing the photos (and don’t miss the hundreds of thank you letters to a nurse there) on the TRIO web site (click to link to it).  So you can get some feel for the challenge I feel in taking on this opportunity.  Certainly I will share more on that here in a future posting as it develops and then actually happens, so stay tuned.  For right now let me just share that one key element in that message will be based on the famous passage from the Velveteen Rabbit where the Skin Horse shares with the Velveteen Rabbit what it means to be real and I will leave it to your imagination how that relates to launching nurses into their new world.

Skin horse shares with Velevetten Rabbit what REAL is...

Skin horse shares with Velvetten Rabbit what REAL is...

I’m still awaiting that mail with the One Month to Live book and welcome readers who may want to join our growing circle to discuss that reading and how it plays out in our own lives over the month ahead.  Just drop me a note here and you can be added to that list.  That should be fun together.
I really have to stop this post and get back to writing those final two chapters of my book (see link above to read it on-line).  Then of course there are the two book reviews I am behind on, having finished both transplant related books now.  If you want to see that long list of transplant books, many with in-depth reviews, just click here to see it on the TRIO web site.  And then there is the new book that Pam and I are writing together, Gifts from the Heart: a 3-D love story of organ donation and transplant – so really, I do have to stop now and get to work.
Thanks for stopping by to visit.  See you back again here soon . . .
