I love sharing the delights of life with anyone who will listen and thus have shared the discovery of the TED.com web site with many friends.  If you haven’t found it yourself, take my word for it that its one of the most fascinating collection of presentations given by people who are truly passionate about what they talk about, and that range of subjects is amazing.  Just be careful.  It can be addictive once you start sampling the riches there, so be prepared to give up some time to this new adventure.

I’ve been pretty busy this past month and haven’t been back to the TED.com site for a while now.  Today I received a nice note from dear friend, Karen, who mentioned that site again and of course I took a minute to visit her “find” there.  Well, 30 minutes later I had to give up watching those fascinating shows to get back to my pressing obligations, but not before enjoying Richared Pyle presenting on the topic: Exploring the Reef’s Twilight in which he shows us thriving life on the cliffs of coral reefs and groundbreaking diving technologies he has pioneered to explore it. He and his team risk everything to reveal the secrets of undiscovered species. But at the very end I find he offers the “golden nugget” of his discoveries – insights into life – our human life.  I wouldn’t give it away here, leaving it to your own interest level to go watch the whole video to find it yourself, if interested.  Hopefully I’ve tweaked your curiosity.  Go enjoy.  And then, maybe you too will share with your own network and they in turn, like Karen just did for me, will bring it back around when they share in return something there that sparks their own interest.

Two other TED presentations that caught my attention were February 2009 TED winners (click on the title to link to the presentation):
Musical – An astonishing performance by El Sistema’s national youth orchestra, and . . .
Beyond Planet Earth – Jill Tarter: Why the search for alien intelligence matters

Like I said, “What goes around, comes around…” and in my “cookie monster” view of life, that  is always a good thing, a “free cookie” – something you are given that you don’t deserve, you just get it free for no real reason, so celebrate it and share the story – why?  Because that’s what cookie monsters do, they expect good things to happen in their lives, and when they do, they share them with others in many ways, such as story telling, as I’ve just done here for you today.

